Highways WINNERS

A-one+ Area 12 Highways Awards 2019 Team of the Year WINNERS and Most Innovative Highways Product highly commended.

Our Team of the Year entry for Crambeck to Malton carriageway renewal scheme involved substantial work such as deep carriageway re-construction (nearly 1m deep in one area) on the single carriageway section of the A64 between York and Malton.

Faced with an extremely challenging scope of work, our project team quickly agreed that the best solution – considering safety, cost and customer experience – was a series of total weekend road closures. However, this wasn’t easy with two major challenges to address:

  • No straightforward diversion routes
  • The only access for Crambeck and Huttons Ambo villages (over 200 properties) was to use part of the closed section of road

The project team and supply chain carefully planned work to maximise productivity while maintaining access for residents, emergency and site vehicles. The team then worked to gain support from other key stakeholders (local authorities, Coastliner bus and police).

Key to the scheme success was development and implementation of substantial traffic management and stakeholder communication plans drawing on staff from Highways England, our own customer team and our supply chain. It involved different signed diversion routes for east- and west-bound traffic, using over 550 signs, and a system for managing resident access. Together with standard scheme communications the stakeholder communication plan included several new initiatives to go that extra mile. The focus was on proactive engagement with the customers and demonstrating a caring attitude with success measured by the extremely favourable coverage and customer comments received.

Most Innovative Highways Product highly commended was our combined noise and VRS barrier which is the first of its kind in the UK.

All the winners of the 2019 Highways Awards were revealed by TV and radio presenter Colin Murray on Wednesday 9 October in front of nearly 500 industry professionals at the Lancaster London

Congratulations to all this year’s winners.