GRIT Awards

The annual A-one+ GRIT Awards took place last week on April 18 at the AMEX Stadium, Brighton.

This prestigious ceremony celebrates all our internal quarterly individual and team winners from across our organisation throughout the previous calendar year.

The event was attended by our nominators, supply chain guests and representatives from Highways England as well as all the quarterly winners, team delegates and hosted by our executive management team.


Clive Leadbetter, Managing Director,  A-one+ opened the ceremony thanking everyone for their hard work and commitment, reminding everyone to work towards our values, he also talked about what we do each day playing a crucial role in supporting our economy. Chris Sheppard, Area 4 General Manager and Brian Statham, Area 12 General Manager took turns introducing each team winners for their area; explaining what the team did that earned them their quarterly win and a place on the annual shortlist.


Team runner up for 2017 is the Design Team, Area 12. This team were nominated by Dennis Price for volunteering to cover emergency weekend work on the A1. The team formed part of traffic management, emergency communication plan and stakeholder engagement including letter drops and visiting residents and businesses affected by the works. Difficulties encountered during the work meant that the team ended up working the following Monday and Tuesday night too.

2017 Team Winner went to Operation Dover Tap, Area 4 nominated by Neil Wade. Everyone played an important part in making sure this scheme went to plan including; construction, design and supply chain. The scheme delivered many high numbering outputs such as 3,000 tonne shingle used, 500m3 to 11,000t concrete mixed, 21,000 litres of red diesel consumed, 3,500 litres drinking water drunk, 40 tower lights deployed, 64,000 meters cabling laid and 42,000m ducting set. And, managed to meet all timescales despite several challenges to work around.

Individual Runner Up went to Tom Coleman, Area 12. Tom has achieved phenomenal success this year but said that this award means the most of all. Tom was nominated by Nigel Yeatman for taking it upon himself to develop an improved version of our GIS system which allows links to all  data streams    helping teams work more efficiently and effectively, saving money and making sure everyone works safely. In addition, Tom has won a raft of awards for the GIS system and for young professionalism, helping raise awareness of A-one+ and our industry.

And finally, the 2017 GRIT award individual winner is Nigel Yeatman, Area 12. Nigel was nominated by Andrew Sharp. Nigel was nominated for his professional approach in representing A-one+ at a coroner’s inquest into the A1(M) Don Viaduct fatality. This was Nigel’s first time appearing at a coroner’s court, he took the stand 4 different times during a two day hearing in November answering questions. Nigel’s knowledge, professionalism and attention to detail while representing A-one+ and Highways England since the tragic incident has been of the highest order. This was way over and above his day job and the act of appearing at the inquest and in front of the press must have placed strain and stress on him as an individual.

Simon Jones, Highways England, Regional Director took the opportunity to say thank you to A-one+ and praise the team he works with in area 4 for their success despite many challenges.

This is the first time these awards have been held in Area 4 and huge thanks to the team for organising an excellent event enjoyed by all.

Thanks go to all our nominators without whom there would be no achievements to celebrate and to all our quarterly GRIT award entries who go above and beyond each day.

All quarterly winners for each area 2017 were:

Team Area 4

  • Dover Tap
  • Mental Health First Aiders
  • Customer and Communications Team
  • Hard Hat Working Group

Individual Area 4

  • Mandy Ellison
  • Graham Beale
  • Gavin Crittenden
  • Christine Wood

Team Area 12

  • Finance Team
  • Sprotborough Area Maintenance Team
  • A628 Project Team
  • Design Team

Individual Area 12

  • Stuart Barraclough
  • Graham Beards
  • Thomas Coleman
  • Nigel Yeatman