Grit Awards 2017

Our annual Grit Awards winners were announced last night during a special ceremony at Thorpe Park Hotel, Leeds.

The overall individual runner up was awarded to Stuart Allanson from Area 12 with the individual winners prize going to Fraser Hyndman also from Area 12.


Fraser Hyndman Individual Winner Overall



The overall team award went to David Wheatley and Graeme Watt from Area 14. The runners up award went to the Area 12 gully team; Dave Steers, Chris Hamnett, Bob Boden and Lee Moran who were unable to attend because they were on duty on the network. Collecting the award on their behalf was Jimmy Horsley and Rod Parker.

Team winners David Wheatley and Graeme Watt



The finalists are all winners of the quarterly awards held in each area throughout the previous calendar year and the culmination of some truly outstanding efforts and performance.

The special ceremony is a reward for all the finalists and some nominators without whom there would be no awards. The pre-dinner drinks are followed by a three course meal prior to the announcements. The general managers for each area provided some commentary around the nominations and why they each won quarterly recognition. Then Managing Director, Clive Leadbetter opened the sealed envelopes to reveal the runners up and winners presenting each with trophy and prize.


Clive said; ‘I look forward to this ceremony because it really shows the true colours of our amazing people. When someone asks what they do for a living, I want their reply simply to be “I keep the economy moving” because that is the big bottom line of what we do every day, all day, year round, no matter what our job function, that is what we do’.

A special award went to Area 4 for the prompt clear up and handling of the M20 bridge strike and Clive announced that the ceremony would be taking place in Kent next year.  Book your place today, nominate your colleagues now.

A huge well done to everyone who is nominated throughout the year as well as our finalists.


Area 4 collecting their special prize